This Week

This Week: Sharing Isn’t Always Caring

So this is a new thing I’m going to be doing every Sabbath called This Week, where I share lessons, findings, questions, whatever that I’ve had during the week.

This week has been trying but rewarding, God has been showing himself worthy over & over again, and there are a couple of lessons that I have learnt that I want to share with you.

 

1. Sharing is not always caring.

I am a writer and a large part of my writing is poetry. Poetry is growing, especially spoken word but it’s not really taken seriously by many people. It’s not taken as a serious career path & many people look at you a bit funny when if you tell them you want to be a poet. I personally know or know of quite a few successful poets who are making a good living off of their craft but that’s not what this is about.

Because people don’t take poetry seriously when I tell them I’m a poet & want to pursue it as a career, they doubt. Doubt is dangerous, doubt prevents blessings and shows an absence of faith. They may not intentionally doubt, after all we do live in a world where the number in your bank account measures your success, & poetry generally doesn’t bring in that much. Fact remains though, that they are faithless.

I’m a sharing person, mainly because I need validation from people – that’s neither here nor there. I tell people what I’m doing with my life, my future plans dreams, etc. Mostly because I feel like if you’re my friend, then you’ll want the best for me. This is dangerous. On Wednesday, my devotion was on Samson (Judges 16). Samson loved Delilah, he thought he could trust her & all the rest of it, when he told her his secret, foolish as it may be he didn’t expect her to deceive him like that. Either that or he didn’t really believe that his power was in his hair. Deeper than the fact not everybody wants the best for you, there are those who do want the best for you but their doubt in your dreams is preventing your success. Bible says ‘where two or three are gathered in my name, there I am with them’ (Matt 18:20) if two out of three don’t believe what is being prayed/spoken about that can hinder things.

 

2. Do not compromise God.

As a Seventh-Day Adventist, I celebrate Sabbath from sunset Friday to sunset Saturday, every week. This means I don’t work (inc. school work)/watch TV/party/spend money unnecessarily in that time. Instead I rest, I go to church, fellowship, reflect on God, & eat WELL (amen). This also means I can’t get a job that requires me to work in that time. My mum, on the other hand, is Catholic & doesn’t follow my routine & neither does she really understand it. Now that I’m desperately job-seeking, my mum has suggested countless times to work on the Sabbath.

The Sabbath truth is what really convicted me into being an Adventist, I hadn’t questioned why I worshipped on Sunday before & the answers other were giving just didn’t hold up. Now, Sabbath for me is important. I look forward to it, a time to chill & meditate on my relationship with God for 24hrs without being distracted by anything else.

Granted, not all Sabbaths are as sublime as I’m making out & I have often broken Sabbath in the past however it’s not something I want to get into the habit of doing, nor compromise on. My mum’s reasoning is that God will understand, my reasoning is just because He understands, doesn’t mean He accepts, after all what does He not understand?

The Bible, & subsequently God, is very clear on keeping the commandments so that’s what I try to do. And I think that there are certain principles that one shouldn’t compromise on, Christian or not, it’s dangerous to fall into the habit of trying to fill a mould created by another man.

2 thoughts on “This Week: Sharing Isn’t Always Caring

Leave a Reply

