Uncategorized

‘I Wish I Was A Chair’.

By Phony Ppl is a great song for a day like today, so is Grandma’s Hands by Bill Withers.

Last Monday I received great news: I got accepted into The School of Oriental and African Studies to study African Literature. WHOOOOOOOP!!!! YEEESSSS!!!! & all those excited yelps. The good news is that I now have some kind of direction in terms of my future, I figured that since I like literature, I like Africa, I like African literature, & I like research then lecturing would be a cool “sensible” plan while I live life as poet/playwright. It will also pay my rent/bills/feed me, so those are definitely bonuses. The almost-good news is that I can’t afford it. There are loans I can take out BUT I’d have to begin repayments 2 months after I graduate & considering I don’t know what my financial circumstances will be like then, & considering my mum & I have £0.00 to even try & support me during that time I don’t want to risk it. This news sounds pretty glum but wait for it…

I have a fundraising page!!! *all of the excited yelps* I’ve been fundraising for almost two days now & have raised £100 (which is really £90 because GoFundMe & PayPal both take commission), the thing is though my goal is £7000 to cover tuition, books, & travel expenses. So basically I’m going to need all of the help I can get, my personal deadline is July 23rd!! Check out my page: www.gofundme.com/damiiodelola for more info & remember if Tesco has been honest about one thing, it’s that every little does help, even if it’s just sharing this information with somebody else. This MA isn’t just to pass time, or for fun, I actually need it to get into lecturing, I can’t become a lecturer without it! So please do what you can to help a young, hopeful, G’d up from the fingers up, sister out!

Me tryna look like somebody you should donate to.

Me tryna look like somebody you should donate to.

Go to www.gofundme.com/damiiodelola & tell everybody!

x

2 thoughts on “‘I Wish I Was A Chair’.

Leave a Reply

